Scottish Rugby News and Opinion


Strauss to Captain as Cusiter Returns

Josh Strauss has been named Glasgow Warriors captain for their final pre-season game against Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park tomorrow.

The former Golden Lions captain will start at number eight, alongside Tyrone Holmes and Rob Harley.

Henry Pyrgos comes in at scrum-half for Ali Price, with Chris Cusiter set to return to action following eleven months on the sidelines with a shoulder injury, after being named amongst the substitutes.

Finlay Gillies also makes his first competitive outing for the club since December 2012, having come through unscathed playing for Glasgow Hawks last weekend.

Scott Wight continues at fly-half, with Alex Dunbar coming in at inside centre and Sean Lamont starting at outside centre.

Byron McGuigan and Tommy Seymour continue on the wings.

Tim Swinson comes in at second row and he will combine with Jonny Gray, who starts for a second consecutive match after playing the full 80 minutes against Harlequins last weekend.

After winning his first cap for Scotland in the summer, Fraser Brown has been named at hooker, with Jon Welsh and Moray Low completing the front-row.

The Warriors have 13 players on the bench, including new signings Leone Nakarawa, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Gabriel Ascarate and Richie Vernon.

Glasgow Warriors kick-off their new RaboDirect PRO12 campaign against Cardiff Blues at Scotstoun Stadium on Friday 6 September, kick-off 7.35pm.

Glasgow Warriors head coach, Gregor Townsend said: “We’re really looking forward to the challenge of facing Exeter Chiefs at their home ground tomorrow.

“They are a very well coached side, who will provide us with a tough test ahead of the new season kicking off next week.

“I’m sure this will be a very useful exercise for both teams, especially as we’re going to be facing each other in the Heineken Cup this season.

“We plan to use our whole bench and give all 28 players game time this weekend.

“We’re delighted to welcome Chris Cusiter and Finlay Gillies back into the squad. Both players have had a frustrating time with injury but have shown great dedication and professionalism in their rehabilitation. We look forward to them being involved with us once again.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Exeter Chiefs, Sandy Park, Saturday 31st August (kick-off 3pm):

15.  Peter Murchie
14.  Tommy Seymour
13.  Sean Lamont
12.  Alex Dunbar
11.  Byron McGuigan
10.  Scott Wight
9.  Henry Pyrgos
1.  Moray Low
2.  Fraser Brown
3.  Jon Welsh
4.  Tim Swinson
5.  Jonny Gray
6.  Rob Harley
7.  Tyrone Holmes
8.  Josh Strauss (C)

16.  Pat Macarthur
17.  Ed Kalman
18.  Jerry Yanuyanutawa
19.  Leone Nakarawa
20.  Chris Cusiter
21.  Finn Russell
22.  Gabriel Ascarate
23.  Richie Vernon
24.  Mark Bennett
25.  James Eddie
26.  Chris Fusaro
27.  Gordon Reid
28.  Finlay Gillies

You might also like these:

Craig is joined by Jonny and Iain to look forward to Glasgow's huge URC final in Pretoria, after the win against Munster and skirt around the latest news of the week.
Craig is joined by Jonny and Rory to look back at the disappointing end to Edinburgh's season and Glasgow's march towards the semi finals.
Gregor Townsend has named a largely experimental squad for the summer tour of the Americas. It's not a question of who misses out, but rather who is actually going, writes Rory.
Iain is joined by Jonny and John to discuss the penultimate round of URC fixtures as well as the recent Scottish Rugby Writers' Awards

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion