Scottish Rugby News and Opinion


Scottish Club Rugby Award Winners 2012

Scotland Logo © SRU - used with permission

Club players, volunteers, referees, coaches and supporters gathered at the home of Scottish Rugby tonight to celebrate the successes of the club game at the third annual Scottish Rugby Club Awards Dinner.

Eighteen awards were handed out at Murrayfield as the curtain came down on season 2011/12 with former British and Irish Lions, and Scotland captains, Andy Nicol and Ian McLauchlan (Scottish Rugby Union President) leading the festivities.

Scottish Rugby’s head of community rugby, Colin Thomson said: “Tonight has been a fantastic celebration of the sport that we all know and love so well.

“The wide range of players, coaches and volunteers that have been recognised this evening demonstrates the impact that rugby has in our communities across Scotland.

“Rugby is a game for all ages, genders, backgrounds and abilities, and it’s this diversity that makes our clubs such great places to be. Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.”

Here at Scottish Rugby Blog we would echo that sentiment, and of course urge you to look out for info on voting in our very own inaugural end of season awards.

Here is the full list of 2011/12 winners:

  • RBS Premier 1 Player of the Season – Richie McIver, Dundee HSFP
  • RBS Premier 2 Player of the Season – Michael Weekly, Jed-Forest
  • RBS Premier 3 Player of the Season – Ross Angus, Perthshire
  • RBS National 1 Player of the Season – Rory Scott, Hawick YM
  • RBS East Regional Player of the Season – Chris Sinclair, Portobello
  • RBS West Regional Player of the Season – Jamie Leslie, Hyndland
  • RBS Caledonia Regional Player of the Season – Kyle Burwood, Carnoustie
  • RBS Women’s Premier 1 Player of the Season – Steph Johnston, RHC Cougars
  • RBS Women’s Premier 2 Player of the Season – Mary Lafaiki, Cartha Queens Park
  • RBS Women’s National League Player of the Season – Alana Davidson, Morgan
  • Coach of the Season – Jammy McFarlane, Hawick YM
  • Youth Coach of the Season – Adrian Askew, Orkney
  • Referee of the Season – James Matthew, Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
  • Spirit of Rugby – George Watson, Aberdeen Grammar
  • RBS Club of the Season – Howe of Fife
  • RBS Women’s Club of the Season – Stirling County
  • RBS Volunteer of the Season – Andrew Jackson, Bishopton
  • Frank Coutts Memorial Award – Try of the Season – Chris Stannage, Hamilton

You might also like these:

Craig is joined by Jonny and Iain to look forward to Glasgow's huge URC final in Pretoria, after the win against Munster and skirt around the latest news of the week.
Craig is joined by Jonny and Rory to look back at the disappointing end to Edinburgh's season and Glasgow's march towards the semi finals.
Gregor Townsend has named a largely experimental squad for the summer tour of the Americas. It's not a question of who misses out, but rather who is actually going, writes Rory.
Iain is joined by Jonny and John to discuss the penultimate round of URC fixtures as well as the recent Scottish Rugby Writers' Awards

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion