Scottish Rugby Blog

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion


Teams and Times for Tonight (and Saturday)

Details of this weekends pro-teams and where to watch them.

Ulster vs Glasgow, Ravenhill, tonight (Friday) coverage on BBC NI (in English) and BBC Alba (in Gaelic), k.o. 1805 BST

Simon Danielli returns to face a few of his Scotland team mates, with the starting Xv unchanged from the one that lost to Munster last week. Some discrepancy about the kick off time here, but BBC Alba’s coverage starts at 1800 so I would bet that 1905 k.o listed on the BBC site is local time. For the first time this season we have a choice of commentary, you can have English via the radio too! See the TV page for where to find the various channels.

Ulster: Ulster: J Smith; A Trimble, D Cave, P Wallace, S Danielli; N O’Connor, R Pienaar; B Young, R Best (cpt), T Court, J Muller, D Tuohy, P Wannenburg, C Henry, R Diack.
Replacements: N Brady, P McAllister, A Whitten, T Barker, W Faloon, P Marshall, I Whitten, D McIlwaine.

Glasgow: B Stortoni; DTH van der Merwe, M Evans, G Morrison, F Aramburu; D Weir, C Gregor; J Welsh, F Thomson, M Low, T Ryder, R Gray, R Harley, J Barclay (cpt), R Vernon.
Replacements: P MacArthur, R Grant, E Kalman, A Muldowney, C Forrester, H Pyrgos, R Jackson, R Dewey.

Aironi vs Edinburgh, Stadio Zaffanella, Viadana, Saturday, coverage on BBC Alba, k.o 1905 BST

Our first chance for a Scottish team to line up against Italian opposition. Despite what I said earlier in the week, Jim Thompson does return for the injured Chris Paterson. Centres Ben Cairns and Alex Grove may feel a little under threat with rumours that Edinburgh may sign Wales U21/Sale Sharks centre David Bishop. Until last week Edinburgh were stuck in the basement with Aironi, let’s hope they can continue to widen the gap.

Edinburgh: Jim Thompson, Mark Robertson, Ben Cairns, Alex Grove, Tim Visser, David Blair, Greig Laidlaw, Kyle Traynor, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Esteban Lozada, Scott MacLeod, Fraser McKenzie, Roddy Grant (capt), Alan MacDonald. Replacements: Andrew Kelly, Allan Jacobsen, David Young, Craig Hamilton, David Denton, Mike Blair, James King, Tom Brown.

Aironi: Julien Laharrague, Giulio Toniolatti, Rodd Penney, Gilberto Pavan, Danwel Demas; Ludovic Mercier, Tito Tebaldi; Alberto De Marchi, Fabio Ongaro, Salvatore Perugini; Carlo Antonio Del Fava, Quintin Geldenhuys (capt); Andrea Benatti, Josh Sole, Nick Williams.
Replacements: Roberto Santamaria, Andrea De Marchi, Luca Redolfini, Marco Bortolami, Jaco Erasmus, Pablo Canavosio, Gabriel Pizarro, Riccardo Bocchino.

Support N50 Sports

You might also like these:

Scotland’s training squad for the 2024 Women’s Six Nations is a mostly familiar core with a smattering of new names – including several who have really impressed in the recent Celtic Challenge matches, writes Eleanor.
Stuart got in touch to tell us about the alternative reality that Saturday's game forced him into. So here it is, the Six Nations Table where Scotland won. To be continued...
Give us your thoughts on the game as Scotland welcome England to Murrayfield.
Gregor Townsend has made three adjustments to the team for the upcoming Six Nations clash against England at Murrayfield.

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion