Scotland Autumn International Squad

Andy Robinson has named his Scotland squad whose primary task will be to face the All Blacks in the first Autumn International on Saturday 17th November.A few uncapped players are in although some if not all have been involved in previous training squads, namely Jackson, Ansbro, Laidlaw and Thompson – who came pretty close to a cap on the Argentina tour.

A.D will no doubt be surprised that Fergus Thomson has missed out on a place, while match assassin Scott Lawson returns. Certain positions could throw up interesting selections although it is unlikely an inexperienced youngster like Jackson will be thrown in ahead of an experienced but out of form incumbent such as say Mr Parks even where the level depth is a bit worrying. No return either for Simon Taylor, who has been in sparkling form for Bath but remains in self-imposed exile. Come back Simon, please!

Backs – Joe Ansbro (Northampton Saints), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Ben Cairns (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Grove (Edinburgh), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais), James Thompson (Edinburgh), Nikki Walker (Ospreys)

Forwards – John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Northampton Saints), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester) and Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors).

Not considered due to injury – Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Phil Godman (Edinburgh) and Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)