Scotland Team Not Massively Surprising

So, Tim Visser made it into a Scotland shirt in place of Joe Ansbro. Evans came in for Lamont on the other wing. Everything else stayed the same as it was.

Head coach Andy Robinson has delayed naming his substitutes – they will be announced on Thursday – partly due to a hope that Sean Lamont might be fit to be included in the 22 and also from the desire to ensure the remainder of the squad continues to be energised as the battle to be in the matchday 22 is a live issue.

Another factor is that the party has been affected by a stomach bug, which forced five players to sit out training today.

No word on whether this might have prevented the odd other change from being made, for example Cusiter or Vernon coming into the starting XV as has been suggested.

Joe Ansbro will possibly never celebrate anything every again, as his absence is caused by accidentally head-butting Strokosch following the win over the Wallabies, in possibly the most tragicomic Scotland occurrence since Geoff Cross knocked himself out and got sent off on his debut.

Evans, who has recently joined up with the squad following involvement in the French Top 14 Final, will be hoping to prove that he and Sean Lamont (if he gets a shot from the bench) are no longer yesterday’s men like the recently retired Simon Danielli or Chris Paterson.

You can find out what the Scotland squad have been up to since arriving in Fiji here.

Scotland Team to play Fiji: Stuart Hogg, Max Evans, Nick De Luca, Matt Scott, Tim Visser, Greig Laidlaw, Mike Blair; Ryan Grant, Ross Ford (capt), Euan Murray, Al Kellock, Richie Gray, Al Strokosch, Ross Rennie, John Barclay
Scott Lawson, Geoff Cross, Tom Ryder, Richie Vernon, Chris Cusiter, Duncan Weir, Sean Lamont

Meanwhile the Fijians have announced their team captained from No 8 by Edinburgh Rugby’s Netani Talei.

Fiji: Isimeli Koniferedi; Waisea Nayacalevu, Wereniki Goneva, Aloisio Buto, Watisoni Votu, Jonetai Ralulu, Nikola Matawalu; Jeremaia Yanuyanutawa, Viliame Veikoso, Setefano Somoca, Apisai Naikatini, Leone Nakarawa, Iliese Ratuva, Malakai Ravulo, Netani Talei (capt)
Replacements: Tuatpati Talemaitoga, Waisea Daveta or Graham Dewes, Josefa Domolailai, Kelepi Ketedromo, Nemia Kenatale, Kameli Ratuvou, Metuisela Talebula.

Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Ian Smith and Andrew Lees (both Australia).

Churchill Park, Lautoka on Saturday 16 June, kick-off 2pm local time (3am BST). Coverage live on ESPN UK from 3am GMT

Tags: , ,