Scottish Rugby News and Opinion


Vote for the Scottish Rugby Hall of Fame

You may be aware, through the Scottish Rugby website or newspaper articles, that Scottish Rugby is setting up its first official Hall of Fame to celebrate the glittering contribution made by Scots to the oval ball game over the years.

Eleven of the first twelve inductees to the Hall of Fame will be chosen by a panel comprising five times British and Irish Lions coach, Sir Ian McGeechan, fellow British Lions and Scotland internationalists John Beattie, John Jeffrey and Chris Rea, and the doyen of Scottish rugby writers, Norman Mair.

The final coveted place in the first ever Hall of Fame will be chosen by US, the Scotland supporting rugby public! The panel have drawn up a shortlist of outstanding Scots from the 1990s and the one to be inducted in November will be the one with the highest number of votes registered on the Scottish Rugby website. You have until 30 September to cast your vote.

The player you choose will then join the other 11 inductees selected by the panel to be announced at the inaugural Scottish Rugby Hall of Fame Gala Dinner, at Murrayfield on Thursday 4 November. It promises to be a spectacular evening, brimming with Scotland players past and present, with Edinburgh-born rugby fan Rory Bremner coming along as guest speaker.

And you could be there as a guest of Scottish Rugby, as everyone who casts a vote will be entered into a Prize Draw for two tickets to the glittering Gala Dinner!


Support N50 Sports

You might also like these:

The Scotland team to face Chile this weekend has been announced and features 10 changes from the side that beat the USA last weekend.
Rory watches as Scotland reach the half way point in their tour with victory over the USA in Washington.
Craig is joined by Rory and Iain to look at the latest news including Scotland's win over Canada and the upcoming test against the USA.
Gregor Townsend has picked the strongest XV possible from his touring squad for the visit to Washington DC to play the USA, writes Rory.

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion