Scottish Rugby News and Opinion


Edinburgh Boost Sevens Squad

Scotland have announced a strong(ish) Sevens squad for the final two World Series events of the season taking place in the UK.

While unlike last year there is no Thom Evans (later replaced by Sean Lamont) to attract the womenfolk, Ally Hogg shows his continuing allegiance to the cause along with a number of other faces from Edinburgh. The squad offers a timely reminder of the reason Edinburgh’s play at times (or at it’s best?) looks like Sevens – most of the guys who have stood out this year for Edinburgh (Robertson, Grant, Laidlaw) were the mainstays of the Sevens squad from last year, and are here redrafted.

Anyone going along, want to write a report?

Scotland 7s squad to compete at the IRB Sevens World Series in London (22 & 23 May) and Edinburgh (29 & 30 May):

Scott Forrest CAPTAIN, Mike Adamson, Alex Blair (Edinburgh Accies), Chris Fusaro (Heriot’s), Roddy Grant (Edinburgh), Ally Hogg (Edinburgh), John Houston (Edinburgh), Lee Jones (Selkirk), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Mark Robertson (Edinburgh), Colin Shaw, Andrew Turnbull (Edinburgh)

Pool for London: England, Scotland, Australia, Russia
Pool for Edinburgh: Fiji, Scotland, Wales, USA

Support N50 Sports

You might also like these:

Craig is joined by Jonny and Iain to look forward to Glasgow's huge URC final in Pretoria, after the win against Munster and skirt around the latest news of the week.
Craig is joined by Jonny and Rory to look back at the disappointing end to Edinburgh's season and Glasgow's march towards the semi finals.
Gregor Townsend has named a largely experimental squad for the summer tour of the Americas. It's not a question of who misses out, but rather who is actually going, writes Rory.
Iain is joined by Jonny and John to discuss the penultimate round of URC fixtures as well as the recent Scottish Rugby Writers' Awards

Scottish Rugby News and Opinion